Chapman and Balog round out the 2015 season with victories at the Nebraska Cup

Chapman and Balog round out the 2015 season with victories at the Nebraska Cup

By Greg Soukup

The 2015 Nebraska Cup, presented by the Nebraska Lottery Friday evening saw the 410 winged sprints of the National Sprint League come to the high banks of America’s Home Track for their second visit of the year with the Sprint Series of Nebraska’s Racesaver IMCA Sprints as the support class.

The heavy rains of the previous Sunday, coupled with more during the week made for a heavy, fast track. That was evident when Lynton Jeffrey set the pace for the NSL with a clocking of 11.405. A new track record for the Racesaver IMCA Sprints was set in the third heat by Brandon Horton who made the circuit in 12.648 seconds. His record did not stand long however, as Toby Chapman laid down a 12.470 second lap in the A Feature. As a point of reference, that is just over 6 tenths of a second higher than the 360 sprint mark.

The first NSL heat saw the 7TAZ of Tasker Phillips catch a rut in turn one and end up going up and over, collecting the 18 of Ian Madsen. Both drivers were unhurt, and Madsen returned for the feature but Phillips was through for the night.

Heat winners for the NSL were Matt Juhl’s 09, the 17A of Austin McCarl and Bill Balog in the 17B. Sprint Series of Nebraska heat victories went to Jeff Radcliffe in the 21R, Jason Danley’s 4X and the 1B of Brandon Horton.

Tim Fricke ended up going too high in turns 3 & 4 in the Sprint Series of Nebraska B Feature and flipped. Fricke was taken back to his pit in the ambulance, but was not seriously hurt.

The initial start of the Sprint Series of Nebraska A Feature saw the 03 of Shayle Bade spin to a halt in the infield. The second attempt saw Mike Boston’s 51 go extremely high into turn 1, make contact with the wall and end up doing an easy roll-over. When a lap finally was in the books Toby Chapman’s 7KX was out front with the 12 of Tyler Drueke, Adam Gullion’s 91 and the 5X of Jason Martin close on his push bumper. Gullion snuck past Drueke on lap 2 for second. Lap 5 saw Brandon Horton’s 1B and the 68+1 of Blain Petersen make contact in turn 1. Horton’s sprinter went for a flip while Petersen’s mount did a slow tip-over. 2 laps after the red lights in the corners went out Boyd Peterson’s 57b got sideways, the tires dug in and he went flipping. The top 4 took off again with the most heated battle being between Drueke and Martin with Martin making numerous attempts at sliding past Drueke on the low side, but Drueke maintained the position. Gene Ackland’s 14G slowed dramatically coming out of turn 2 with 4 to go for the final caution of the race. Chapman pulled out to a large lead and was never challenged. At the checkers it was Chapman, Gullion, Drueke and Martin.

This was Chapman’s second SSN victory of the year, but his first of the 2015 season at Eagle Raceway. “We’ve had plenty of seconds, but it’s great to finally get a win. This was a really fast track tonight. When you get out front like I did, all you can ask for is to stay there” Chapman said. Chapman’s sponsors include Herbie Zieman Taping Tools, Exterior Landscaping Solutions, Meyers Racing Engines, Gana Trucking, Huenink Refuse, Production Car Care Products and Petersen Auto.

The finale for the season saw Lynton Jeffrey’s 12 out front on lap 1 followed by the 17B of Bill Balog, Ian Madsen’s 18 and the 17A of Austin McCarl rounding out the top 4. Balog began to pressure Madsen and took over the lead on lap 5 when Jeffrey bobbled in turn 2. Lap 10 saw Madsen also get past Jeffrey to take second. From there to the final lap Balog held off the field for the win. Madsen was second, Jeffrey third and McCarl rounded out the top 4.

“I started out on the pole, but fell back a little at the start. I was worried on a fast, heavy track like this. We had trouble early on in the night, but my crew got me going again. I’ve only been here at Eagle twice, and both times it’s been a really heavy track. I want to come back and run when it gets slick, because I’m sure this would be a fantastic place with a track like that” stated Balog. Balog’s sponsors include Buesser Concrete, Rocky Rococo’s, Lein Acres, Stumble Inn and Wisecup Siding.


NSL Sprint 09/11/2015 A Feature: 1. Billy Balog, 2. Ian Madsen, 3. Lynton Jeffrey, 4. Austin McCarl (, IA), 5. Tim Kaeding, 6. Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO), 7. Terry McCarl, 8. Matt Juhl (Estherville, IA), 9. Danny Lasoski, 10. Jack Dover (Springfield, NE), 11. Brian Clauson, 12. Brant OBanion, 13. Toby Chapman (Panama, NE), 14. Tasker Philips, 15. Dakota Hendrickson

Heat 1: 1. Matt Juhl (Estherville, IA), 2. Terry McCarl, 3. Tasker Philips, 4. Ian Madsen, 5. Dakota Hendrickson

Heat 2: 1. Austin McCarl (, IA), 2. Tim Kaeding, 3. Brant OBanion, 4. Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO), 5. Toby Chapman (Panama, NE)

Heat 3: 1. Billy Balog, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Jack Dover (Springfield, NE), 4. Lynton Jeffrey, 5. Brian Clauson, SSN Sprint 09/11/2015

A Feature: 1. Toby Chapman (Panama, NE), 2. Adam Gullion (Lincoln, NE), 3. Tyler Drueke (Eagle, NE), 4. Jason Martin (Lincoln, NE), 5. Ron Love (Lincoln, NE), 6. Terry Richards (Denton, NE), 7. Ryan King (Bennet, NE), 8. Jason Danley (Lincoln, NE), 9. Matt Richards (Lincoln, NE), 10. Dan Satriano (Papillion, NE), 11. Shayle Bade (Lincoln, ne), 12. Gene Ackland (Martell, NE), 13. Nick Bryan (Lincoln, NE), 14. Boyd Peterson (Ithaca, NE), 15. Brandon Horton (Omaha, NE), 16. Blain Petersen (Essex, IA), 17. Jeff Radcliffe (Hill City, KS), 18. Keith Dragoo (Lincoln, NE), 19. Mike Boston (Lincoln, NE), 20. Joey Danley (Lincoln, NE)

B Feature: 1. Dan Satriano (Papillion, NE), 2. Shayle Bade (Lincoln, ne), 3. Gene Ackland (Martell, NE), 4. Boyd Peterson (Ithaca, NE), 5. Keith Dragoo (Lincoln, NE), 6. Colin Smith (Sheldon, IA), 7. Doug Lovegrove (Waverly, NE), 8. Corey Kautz (Urbandale, IA), 9. Nate Weiler (Omaha, NE), 10. Dwight Carter (Lincoln, NE), 11. Joe Miller (Vail, IA), 12. Tim Fricke (Lincoln, NE), 13. Trevor Grossenbacher (Hickman, NE), 14. Chris Roseland (Carter Lake, IA)

Heat 1: 1. Jeff Radcliffe (Hill City, KS), 2. Blain Petersen (Essex, IA), 3. Toby Chapman (Panama, NE), 4. Ryan King (Bennet, NE), 5. Terry Richards (Denton, NE), 6. Boyd Peterson (Ithaca, NE), 7. Shayle Bade (Lincoln, ne), 8. Corey Kautz (Urbandale, IA), 9. Joe Miller (Vail, IA), 10. Nate Weiler (Omaha, NE)

Heat 2: 1. Jason Danley (Lincoln, NE), 2. Ron Love (Lincoln, NE), 3. Tyler Drueke (Eagle, NE), 4. Matt Richards (Lincoln, NE), 5. Joey Danley (Lincoln, NE), 6. Dan Satriano (Papillion, NE), 7. Doug Lovegrove (Waverly, NE), 8. Colin Smith (Sheldon, IA), 9. Tim Fricke (Lincoln, NE), 10. Chris Roseland (Carter Lake, IA)

Heat 3: 1. Brandon Horton (Omaha, NE), 2. Adam Gullion (Lincoln, NE), 3. Mike Boston (Lincoln, NE), 4. Jason Martin (Lincoln, NE), 5. Nick Bryan (Lincoln, NE), 6. Gene Ackland (Martell, NE), 7. Keith Dragoo (Lincoln, NE), 8. Dwight Carter (Lincoln, NE), 9. Trevor Grossenbacher (Hickman, NE)

Share this post